Saigon Tours Vietnam

Hanoi Travel | Saigon Travel | Footprints Travel |
You are here  : Home Saigon Sights An Giang Province - Mekong Delta

Quick Search

Saigon Tours Vietnam
An Giang Province - Mekong Delta

An Giang Province belongs to Mekong River Delta. The west of the province borders on Cambodia; its east and north-eastern meets Dong Thap Province; the south-eastern stays next to Can Tho Province, and the west and south-western are contiguous to Kien Giang Province.

The natural area of this province is more than 3,406 square kilometres with Long Xuyen City, Chau Doc Township and 9 provinces: An Phu, Tan Chau, Phu Tan, Chau Phu, Tinh Bien, Tri Ton, Cho Moi, Chau Thanh, and Thoai Son. Although it is a province of the South-Western, besides alluvia delta, An Giang has a small mountainous area called Seven Mountains, belonging two provinces Tinh Bien and Tri Ton.
The area of the province is the starting point of Mekong River which flows into Vietnam's territory and isolates into two branches of river: Tien Giang (Front River) and Hau Giang (Back River). Hence, An Giang is the first place receiving the stream from the upper reach of Mekong River and that makes up the flooding season which lasts from two months and a half to five months. And the flooding flow brings the most abundant alluvia, so An Giang is always the leading province of the country in producing rice with the yield of more than two million tones.

Besides agricultural cultivating, An Giang also focuses on improving aquaculture with fresh water creatures like fish and shrimp. Especially, the model of raising "ba sa" fish on the river has brought An Giang an advantage of slippery flesh fish exporting in which An Giang is ranked first in the country. This is the age-old traditional occupation that is developing strongly and is a distinct feature of the province.

An Giang is also famous for its traditional handicraft profession villages: carpentry Thu Market, silk Tan Chau, salted fish Chau Doc, and sewing brocade cloth of Cham ethnic group.

In addition, there are many religions existing and developing in the spirit life of inhabitants such as Hoa Hao Buddhism, Catholicism, Buddhism, and so on.

Along with the festival Miss Chua Xu, the largest common festival of the South Vietnam celebrated every year in the fourth month of Lunar year, there are plentiful festivities of ethnic groups Khmer and Cham. They all create cultural activities and contribute to honors the national characters.
Nowadays, An Giang is well-known to many travellers through the beauty spots such as Mount Sam, Miss Chua Xu Pagoda, Prohibiting Mountain and the grotto system of Mount Thuy Dai, Mount Anh Vu, and Mountainous Manor Co To together with other historical vestiges and artistic architectural works.


Copyright © 2016. All Rights Reserved to Saigon Tours Vietnam

Head Office: So Viet Nghe Tinh, Binh Thanh Dist, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Tel: +84 4 3994 4568 - Fax: +84 4 3872 9502 - Hotline 24/7: +84 98 999 4848
Email: [email protected] / [email protected]